Resources

Permaculture Ethics, Principles & Overview: 

-Black Permaculture Network: http://blackpermaculturenetwork.org

-David Holmgren Permaculture Design for Sustainable Living, Ideas & Actions: http://holmgren.com.au/ideas-and-actions/

Earth User’s Guide to Permaculture by Rosemary Morrow

Permaculture Activist articles: http://www.permacultureactivist.net/articles/articles.htm

-People Care, Earth Care, Fair Share Ethics: http://permacultureprinciples.com/ethics/

Permaculture: A Designer’s Manual by Bill Mollison

Permaculture: A Practical Guide to Small-Scale, Integrative Farming and Gardening by Sepp Holzer

Permaculture: Principles & Pathways Beyond Sustainability by David Holmgren

-Permaculture.TV, free video cooperative: http://permaculture.tv

The Permaculture Research Institute website: http://permaculturenews.org

The Earth Care Manual: A Permaculture Handbook for Britain and other Temperate Climates by Patrick Whitefield

-Worldwide Permaculture Network: http://permacultureglobal.org

Animals

Aquaponics

-Backyard Aquaponics: http://backyardaquaponics.com/

-Barrelponics Manual (pdf), how to make an aquaponics system out of barrels: http://www.fastonline.org/images/manuals/Aquaculture/Aquaponic_Information/barrelponics_manual.pdf

-Good video showing an example of an aquaponic system: http://youtu.be/Sz9foKUb20c

-Growing Power’s aquaponics page: http://www.growingpower.org/education/what-we-grow/aquaponics/

Design

-Food Forest Farm & Permaculture Nursery (Paradise Lot): http://www.foodforestfarm.com

-Sun Caluculator app helps calculate sun position, phases, etc: http://suncalc.net/#/45.4215,-75.6972,10/2011.10.20/12:35

Edible Forest Gardens

-Apios Institute: edible forest garden design, research and useful species: http://apiosinstitute.org/

Farming

The Winter Harvest Handbook: Year-Round Vegetable Production Using Deep-Organic Techniques and Unheated Greenhouses by Eliot Coleman

Financial Permaculture

-Earthseed Consulting:  http://earthseedconsulting.com

-Financial Permaculture Institute –  http://2014.financialpermaculture.com

Freeganism

Steal This Book by Abbie Hoffman http://www.tenant.net/Community/steal/steal.html

Home-Scale Permaculture

Gaia’s Garden by Toby Hemenway

Humanure

-Humanure Handbook (pdf) http://humanurehandbook.com/contents.html

Natural Building

-Hammerstone School: Carpentry for Women,  http://www.hammerstoneschool.com

Pattern Language

A Pattern Language: Towns, Buildings, Construction by Christopher Alexander et al.

Free downloadable version at: https://archive.org/details/APatternLanguage

-“A ‘Pattern Language’ for Women in Permaculture,” an article by by Karryn Olson-Ramanujan. http://seedsustainabilityconsulting.com/women-in-permaculture-article-in-permaculture-activist/

Permaculture Learning Communities

-Gaia University:  http://www.gaiauniversity.org

Plants

-Plants For A Future: 7000 Edible, Medicinal & Useful Plants website: http://www.pfaf.org/user/Default.aspx

Seed Saving

-Cleveland Seed Bank

-Organic Seed Alliance website: http://seedalliance.org/home

Soil Remediation

Brownfields to Greenfields: A Field Guide to Phytoremediation (pdf): http://www.youarethecity.com/pdf/fieldguide_youarethecity.pdf

Transition Town Network, “Transition Primer” pdf: http://www.transitionnetwork.org/resources/transition-primer

Permaculture-based Organizations

-Eco-Logical Solutions: http://www.eco-logicalsolutions.com

-Hummingbird Project, Cleveland, OH: http://www.hummingbirdproject.org

-Lots of Food, Rochester, NY: http://lotsoffood.org

-Pathways to Resilience: a permaculture and social entrepreneur training program for men returning home after incarceration   http://pathways2resilience.org

-Permaculture Institute of Eastern Ontario: http://www.eonpermaculture.ca

-Permaculture BC website: http://permaculturebc.com

-Rochester Permaculture Center: http://rochesterpermaculturecenter.org

-Spontaneous Vegetation, Nance Klhem’s work in Chicago, IL: http://spontaneousvegetation.net

-Sustainable Living Network: http://www.sustainablelivingnetwork.org

Water

-Global Women’s Water Initiative: http://womenwater.strikingly.com

*This site is under construction as we are plan to add and revise this list.  Please visit back over time to check out what we’ve added.  Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s